Don't try this  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Don't try this

by leifs » Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:54 pm

APG 3.0 b1
Sphere 96 images x 3 brackets
Detection takes some minutes. Working in the editor is painfully slow.
So I just push the render-button and want an EXR-file out.

Now my 12 cores has been red hot at 100% for 4 hours !
The batch render window is saying "warping" and the progress bar has moved 2mm !
There is no image disk activity at all.
And yes, I have rebooted the computer and tried again. Same result.
Abort rendering does not work. I exit APG, but the APG process is still running at 100%.
I kill the process and the CPU cool down.

leifs


Last edited by leifs on Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Leica 25mm f1.4, fisheye, zooms, primes
Seitz VRdrive2
2x Intel Xeon E5-2660, 128GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:13 am

To much cores, so they don't know what the others are doing ? ;)
Regards
Martin

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Wed Sep 26, 2012 2:23 pm

I am doing that all the time with my i7 920, 8 cores though. The sometimes run through the night like that, although it will have period of not fully using 100%

No diskactivity is suspicious although with 48 RAM there is not much need for tempspace.

The i7 will turn it's multiplier down automaticly when a core hits TDP. It is set at 100 degrees. You can use realtemp to see things and even set a different TDP.

If core goes high when you start process and then later slowly goes down it might that you need some heavier cooling though knowing you things should be fine.

About your editor, how much GB on your GPU card?
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:49 pm

Hi Hans
Have the i7 920 not 4 cores, haven't it? So 4 isn't the same as 12. 12 can give a lot more of confusion ;)
Be carefully: TDP at 100º is very high, even for an good old nehalem.
Regards
Martin

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Wed Sep 26, 2012 4:52 pm

correct 4 cores, but with hyperthreading 8.

100 degrees is what Intel has put into it as TDP so why question that.

Sounds interesting to upgrade the 920 to 980 ;-)
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:49 pm

What I mean ist that 100º is the absolute maximum. Not good for a long life of the heart of your PC.
And when der CPU reaches this temperature, it means that your cooling solution is overwhelmed.
Have you checked the contact between cpu surface and cooler ? Or that the fan and heatsink is free
from dust?
Regards
Martin

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

by HansKeesom » Wed Sep 26, 2012 9:18 pm

I run 100% a lot. Not 100 degrees a lot. I just explained that a i7 is to slow itself down when in neighbourhood of what intel appearently considers a safe value.

My cooling solution is fine, hardly ever do I get at 90 degrees even. mostly 60's. And i even set my tj max to 95 just to be sure ;-)
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:05 am

HansKeesom wrote:...hardly ever do I get at 90 degrees even. mostly 60's. And i even set my tj max to 95 just to be sure...

Ah, that's ok!
Regards
Martin

no avatar
tived
Member
 
Posts: 796
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Dane in Western Australia
Info

by tived » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:02 am

leif there must be something else wrong, it should not even take an hour. I might have a look at one my own over the weekend with 280-300 images or 3 x100

will let u know

Henrik

leifs wrote:APG 3.0 b1
Sphere 96 images x 3 brackets
Detection takes some minutes. Working in the editor is painfully slow.
So I just push the render-button and want an EXR-file out.

Now my 12 cores has been red hot at 100% for 4 hours !
The batch render window is saying "warping" and the progress bar has moved 2mm !
There is no image disk activity at all.
And yes, I have rebooted the computer and tried again. Same result.
Abort rendering does not work. I exit APG, but the APG process is still running at 100%.
I kill the process and the CPU cool down.

leifs

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

by leifs » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:12 am

I tried 2.64 and it ran at 100% for 14 hours before I killed it. The progress bar had moved 10mm.

There must be something wrong. Maybe me doing an unwise combination of settings, or a systemic fault.
I have no problems with large bracketed partial panos or cylinders.
Has anybody made a large bracketed sphere (90+ images x 3 brackets) and got it rendered ?

leifs
Last edited by leifs on Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Leica 25mm f1.4, fisheye, zooms, primes
Seitz VRdrive2
2x Intel Xeon E5-2660, 128GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
tived
Member
 
Posts: 796
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Dane in Western Australia
Info

by tived » Fri Sep 28, 2012 1:17 pm

sphear.... i missed that detail, i don't do sphears - can't print them :-)

do u have an alternative software solution? i often swap around where one is struggling the other might work none of them can do everything, like have multiple lenses

Henrik
Last edited by tived on Fri Sep 28, 2012 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:50 pm

leifs wrote:Has anybody made a large bracketed sphere (90+ images x 3 brackets) and got it rendered ?

Yes.
2nd node - About 3,5 Gigapix. 3 steps bracketing. 5D2 Canon, 1,4/85mm Nikon AI-s lens, 214 x 3 pictures. Rendered in about 18min in 2.6.4. MacPro, 2x3GHz Xeons, 8 cores, 32GB RAM.
1st and 3rd node: 700mpx.

http://www.360impressions.de/Wuppertal/

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
lumelix
Member
 
Posts: 528
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Location: Switzerland
Info

by lumelix » Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:03 pm

Regards
Martin

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Fri Sep 28, 2012 4:58 pm

lumelix wrote:

Top!

Hey Martin!

Thanks! :)

What i enjoyed: stitching/rendering was fast and free from any problem. I had to retouch some minor glitches because i made a mistake by using a wrong rail
(prototype without marks) and had to improvise or do a complete new NPP finding for the lens - i improvised . . :cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

by leifs » Fri Sep 28, 2012 7:28 pm

klausesser wrote:2nd node - About 3,5 Gigapix. 3 steps bracketing. 5D2 Canon, 1,4/85mm Nikon AI-s lens, 214 x 3 pictures. Rendered in about 18min in 2.6.4. MacPro, 2x3GHz Xeons, 8 cores, 32GB RAM.
best, Klaus

brackets processed in APG og preprocessed (Photomatix ..) ?

leifs
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Leica 25mm f1.4, fisheye, zooms, primes
Seitz VRdrive2
2x Intel Xeon E5-2660, 128GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sat Sep 29, 2012 12:26 am

leifs wrote:
klausesser wrote:2nd node - About 3,5 Gigapix. 3 steps bracketing. 5D2 Canon, 1,4/85mm Nikon AI-s lens, 214 x 3 pictures. Rendered in about 18min in 2.6.4. MacPro, 2x3GHz Xeons, 8 cores, 32GB RAM.
best, Klaus

brackets processed in APG og preprocessed (Photomatix ..) ?

leifs

Hi leifs!

The second node i did using APG only. The 1st and 3rd i use Photomatix first. I also did a run
using Photomatix with the second node in another version. I managed getting APG do it without
a relevant difference.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron