Page 1 of 1

Render is messed up then crashes

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:01 pm
by RickDrew
Have a 506 image pano, 22x23 rows, shot with the Gigapan Epic Pro. Imported using the Gigapan import.

It tried to make an equirectangular out of it - total mess. Tried the other projections, no good. Average error was over 15. Maybe 20 images had correct links. The import grid was totally ignored.

This was on the fourth try - all other tries crashed durint SIFT (ati driver, newest version, downloaded two datys ago).

64 gig of RAM, 6 core CPU, 4 SSD's in RAID, 4 3TB drives, two AMD Radeon HD7900 video cards 4 gig of RAM each. I built the system for gigapans, and was hoping to use Autopano Giga - but i can't get past the crashes.

Fault: ATI06AXX.DLL ver 6.14.10.11762

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:09 pm
by gkaefer
which autopano version do you use?
Georg

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:34 pm
by RickDrew
Sorry - 2.6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:44 pm
by gkaefer
;) no problem.

try the 3.0 beta 1.

issue 0454 Solved (3.0 alpha 2): [Import plugins] Using timestamp for sorting gigapan input images - resolved.
issue 1390 Solved (3.0 alpha 2): (APG 3.0 alpha 1 x64) GigaPan importer does not work

still open:
issue 1399: open: (APG 2.6.3 X64 Windows) Gigapan import after dehaze fails

Georg

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 12:42 am
by RickDrew
Hi - did not crash. But the results are terrible - 75% of the images have no control points.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:47 am
by gkaefer
can you post some screenshot showing the gigapan import settings?
did you use 40% overlapping? (default setting in autopano, but not allways used by users ;-) )

finally you're welcome to make some reduced filesets (e.g. 20% filesize jpgs with 60% compression ;-)) available to download...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 10:33 am
by leifs
I had this ATI06AXX.DLL trouble earlier this year, and did some research. I found it to be related to the ATI driver and GPU processing, OpenGL.
Disabling GPU processing made the trouble disappear.
In some way or another (some updates etc) I can now enable GPU processing without trouble.

leifs

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:27 pm
by RickDrew
Thanks - I'll try that. Hate the idea - dual video cards with dual processors :-(

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:01 am
by lumelix
Crash during the SIFT?
Do you use the "standard" option for CP detection?
Using the "high" option with 506 images can crash the app or system.
Use first the "Gigapixel" option for optimization.

What's about image orientation? Are all images well orientated?
You shot up to 23 images up to the roof?