[APP 3.0 A2 Mac] GPU mode problem with old ATI card  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
bouscram
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 45
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:11 pm
Info

[APP 3.0 A2 Mac] GPU mode problem with old ATI card

by bouscram » Sat Aug 25, 2012 10:38 am

When I try to activate the GPU mode (the GPU test is OK), I have the following message : "The shader program can't be compiled."

This didn't happen with the A1 version, although I suspect that the GPU mode was not activated, whatever the switch value was.

This is still my old iMac with an ATI x1600 card, running OS X 10.7.4

Infos :
OGL Version: 2.1 ATI-7.0.52
Render: ATI Radeon X1600 OpenGL Engine
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
Shader Version: 1.20
MaxTextureSize: 4096
MaxTextureUnits: 8
MaxColorAttachement: 4
MaxRenderBufferSize: 4096
Extentions:
GL_APPLE_aux_depth_stencil
GL_APPLE_client_storage
GL_APPLE_element_array
GL_APPLE_fence
GL_APPLE_float_pixels
GL_APPLE_flush_buffer_range
GL_APPLE_flush_render
GL_APPLE_object_purgeable
GL_APPLE_packed_pixels
GL_APPLE_pixel_buffer
GL_APPLE_rgb_422
GL_APPLE_row_bytes
GL_APPLE_specular_vector
GL_APPLE_texture_range
GL_APPLE_transform_hint
GL_APPLE_vertex_array_object
GL_APPLE_vertex_array_range
GL_APPLE_vertex_program_evaluators
GL_APPLE_ycbcr_422
GL_ARB_depth_texture
GL_ARB_draw_buffers
GL_ARB_draw_elements_base_vertex
GL_ARB_fragment_program
GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow
GL_ARB_fragment_shader
GL_ARB_half_float_pixel
GL_ARB_half_float_vertex
GL_ARB_imaging
GL_ARB_instanced_arrays
GL_ARB_multisample
GL_ARB_multitexture
GL_ARB_occlusion_query
GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object
GL_ARB_point_parameters
GL_ARB_point_sprite
GL_ARB_provoking_vertex
GL_ARB_shader_objects
GL_ARB_shader_texture_lod
GL_ARB_shading_language_100
GL_ARB_shadow
GL_ARB_shadow_ambient
GL_ARB_sync
GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp
GL_ARB_texture_compression
GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
GL_ARB_texture_env_add
GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
GL_ARB_texture_env_crossbar
GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3
GL_ARB_texture_float
GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat
GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two
GL_ARB_texture_rectangle
GL_ARB_texture_rg
GL_ARB_transpose_matrix
GL_ARB_vertex_array_bgra
GL_ARB_vertex_blend
GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
GL_ARB_vertex_program
GL_ARB_vertex_shader
GL_ARB_window_pos
GL_ATI_blend_equation_separate
GL_ATI_blend_weighted_minmax
GL_ATI_separate_stencil
GL_ATI_texture_compression_3dc
GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3
GL_ATI_texture_float
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once
GL_EXT_abgr
GL_EXT_bgra
GL_EXT_blend_color
GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate
GL_EXT_blend_func_separate
GL_EXT_blend_minmax
GL_EXT_blend_subtract
GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint
GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array
GL_EXT_draw_range_elements
GL_EXT_fog_coord
GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit
GL_EXT_framebuffer_multisample
GL_EXT_framebuffer_object
GL_EXT_geometry_shader4
GL_EXT_gpu_program_parameters
GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays
GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil
GL_EXT_provoking_vertex
GL_EXT_rescale_normal
GL_EXT_secondary_color
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color
GL_EXT_shadow_funcs
GL_EXT_stencil_two_side
GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
GL_EXT_texture_compression_dxt1
GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
GL_EXT_texture_env_add
GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias
GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp
GL_EXT_texture_rectangle
GL_EXT_texture_sRGB
GL_EXT_transform_feedback
GL_EXT_vertex_array_bgra
GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip
GL_NV_blend_square
GL_NV_fog_distance
GL_NV_light_max_exponent
GL_NV_texgen_reflection
GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp
GL_SGIS_texture_lod
GL_SGI_color_matrix

User avatar
angutir
Member
 
Posts: 52
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:08 pm
Location: Spain
Info

by angutir » Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:12 pm

Same problem with new one:

OGL Version: 2.1 ATI-1.0.25
Render: ATI Radeon HD 6970M OpenGL Engine
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
Shader Version: 1.20
MaxTextureSize: 16384
MaxTextureUnits: 8
MaxColorAttachement: 8
MaxRenderBufferSize: 16384
Canon 5D Mark III, Canon FE 8-15 mm

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:15 am

This bug is still open because of an ATI bug in mac drivers. I don't know if we can overcome this one.

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:57 am

AlexandreJ wrote:This bug is still open because of an ATI bug in mac drivers. I don't know if we can overcome this one.

Right - shame on ATI. Issues are there for quite a long time and they didn´t get it.

I guess NVidia is the way to go - at least on Macs.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:46 pm

klausesser wrote:I guess NVidia is the way to go - at least on Macs.best, Klaus

If only ...

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Mon Aug 27, 2012 12:55 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:
klausesser wrote:I guess NVidia is the way to go - at least on Macs.best, Klaus

If only ...

:cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
bouscram
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 45
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:11 pm
Info

by bouscram » Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:56 pm

From what I read in another thread, there is a similar problem with at least one Nvidia configuration : is the problem really in the driver or elsewhere in Mac OS ?

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:04 am

In fact, it is more Apple fault that doesn't update regularly drivers that exists from nvidia or ati brand.

no avatar
bouscram
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 45
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 5:11 pm
Info

by bouscram » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:40 am

Update for APP 3.0 B1 :
APP behaves like GPU rendering was working (the main indication being that the grid in edition mode gives the real size of the panorama, not the preview size).

But it seems that all or most rendering is done in software. Even moving the panorama around is very slow and CPU consuming (in APP 2.x it worked flawlessly).
I guess your solution doesn't work for me... :-(

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:41 pm

AlexandreJ wrote:In fact, it is more Apple fault that doesn't update regularly drivers that exists from nvidia or ati brand.

I´m not sure it´s on Apple´s side. Some days ago i put an actual ATI PC-card card from my son into my MacPro - and APG 3/A3´s Editor runs like hell.

There´s an interesting US-site on the web dealing with non-certified PC cards in older MacPros. I´ll look for it. They modify drivers.

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron