[APG-3.0.2 @ Ubuntu-12.04.1 (64bit)] No Exif data discovered  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
too
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:27 pm

[APG-3.0.2 @ Ubuntu-12.04.1 (64bit)] No Exif data discovered

by too » Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:38 pm

Bonjour,

as the attached screenshot shows, no EXIF data is discovered for images taken with Canon EOS 7D with Canon EF 1:4.0/8-15 mm L USM Fisheye Zoom. The program exiftool clearly shows that all the needed information is in the files (16-bit TIFFs). Entering the values manually works, though.

All images were taken at 10 mm focal length with the 7Ds sensor crop factor of 1.6, so I would expect APG to detect at least effective 16 mm focal length (compared to 35 mm full frame).

BTW: Seems to work with JPEGs only but not with TIFFs :rolleyes:

Seeya,
too


Last edited by too on Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DrSlony
Moderator
 
Posts: 1874
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Sweden

by DrSlony » Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:59 pm

What program developed the raw files into TIFF? Can you upload a sample raw and TIFF file?

no avatar
too
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:27 pm

by too » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:23 pm

DrSlony wrote:What program developed the raw files into TIFF? Can you upload a sample raw and TIFF file?

[uli]RAW --> TIFF development: Corel AfterShotPro-1.1.0.30 (former "Bibble5Pro")[/uli]
[uli]Developed full size TIFFs are 16-bit uncompressed and over 100 MB in size.[/uli]

Attached image files:

[uli]RAW file from Canon 7D, taken with Canon EF 1:4.0/8-15mm L USM full frame fish eye at 10 mm focal length (16 mm @ full frame)[/uli]
[uli]TIFF file processed with AfterShotPro-1.1.0.30 at Ubuntu-12.04.1 LTS, 64-bit[/uli]
[uli]1600px version of former TIFF, generated by batch scripted ImageMagick tools. These are the smalll ones I use for rapid prototyping of panoramas for the web.[/uli]

The well known exiftool shows the same information in every file.

Seeya,
too

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:08 pm

and this option is disabled?
Georg



no avatar
too
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:27 pm

by too » Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:27 pm

gkaefer wrote:and this option is disabled?

Yes. I usually let everything "as default as possible". Though, since I suffer the lack of exif data from my TIFFs, I checked the upper setting ("... if no EXIF is found") and set the lens type to "fisheye" and the focal length to "16 mm" (35 mm equiv).

BTW, I tried to upload 3 files, a RAW, a full sized TIFF (> 100 MiB) and a 1600 px TIFF. Seems it did not work as the files don't show up here. Is there really an active file size limit of only 1563 KB as noted below?

I try it again with this post: One CR2 raw file and the derivated 1600px TIFF which I actually use to try pano things out.

Seeya,
too

no avatar
too
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:27 pm

by too » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:03 am

Seems like big RAW and TIFF files are not being uploaded. Any idea how I may upload those files for diagnostics?

too

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:22 am

too wrote:Seems like big RAW and TIFF files are not being uploaded. Any idea how I may upload those files for diagnostics?

too

free dropbox or co... and a link to the cloud in forumpost...

other think you can do: you wrote you did processed your raws... I expect you stil have the original raw files. try the same with the original unprocessed raw files. it would not be the first time that software A is changing/affecting EXIF so autopano does have issues with...

Georg


Return to Autopano bug & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest