Page 1 of 1

[APG 2.6.0 Win7x64]

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:16 am
by mgrant
On 2.6.1 under windows 7 x64, if I edit the pano, then try to zoom into 100% pixels, the resulting preview image is a mess. See attached image.

Michael Grant

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:27 am
by AlexandreJ
Hi Michael,

This seems to be a GPU mode for sure. You have GPU mode enabled for sure.
So, let's do that in order :
- Are your driver up to date ?
- What is your graphic card ?
- What kind of image are you loading and what's their size ?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:02 am
by mgrant
The display driver says it's "Mobile Intel(R) HD Graphics Radeon (TM) HD 6770M" by ATI Technologies Inc.

Windows says that this driver is up to date.

Version 8.830.6.2000 (20110412)

This is on an HP dv7 "quad" laptop LM726AV

The image was not huge, only 6374x3935. I have tried with dng files and jpeg files and mixture of both. Always happens.

If I push the +/- buttons, I can usually zoom to 100%. I noticed just now that if I insist with the +/- buttons, it too goes wonky at some moment.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:21 am
by AlexandreJ
Okay, seems to be a known issue with windows saying that the drivers are up to date, but in fact aren't.

See this page on troubleshooting, first case :
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Autopano_under_Windows

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:15 am
by mgrant
I just spent the last hour going though HP's website. This definitely appears to be the latest and greatest driver. I tried a later driver but it won't install on my hardware.

I could try to report the bug to HP but I'm not sure what I would report.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:52 am
by mediavets
mgrant wrote:This definitely appears to be the latest and greatest driver.

Did you try checking directly on AMD web site?:

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 12:36 pm
by mgrant
I get about the same results from the AMD site. I downloaded their small exe to inspect my system. It offers to download a driver. Then it says:

AMD Catalystâ„¢ Mobility cannot be downloaded due
to incompatible hardware/software on your
computer.

The version of your graphics adapter is not
supported.

Please contact your notebook manufacturer for a
graphics driver update.

I'll try contacting HP but I do not see any later version of this driver using their support utility.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:37 pm
by tomas.obadal

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 9:43 pm
by mgrant
I contacted HP and they did indeed find a later driver from November 2012 which I installed.

FYI This is the driver I installed: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareDownloadIndex?softwareitem=ob-100313-1&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&os=4063&product=5112006&sw_lang=

This unfortunately did not fix the problem.

Of course they say the problem is in the application! At this point, I'm not sure what I can do about this. It seems like someone should contact AMD with a code example of it failing.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:38 pm
by mgrant
The plot thickens!

I recontacted HP again and this time I talked with someone more knowledgeable.

This person said that the problem stems from the fact that OpenGL applications cannot be configured to use the discrete GPU. http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03048374&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5112006&tmp_track_link=ot_search#N218

He first recommended I try to manually set the autopano application to use the High Performance adaptor using this method: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c03048374&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5112006&tmp_track_link=ot_search

This did not seem to work. So he then recommended I change my laptop's BIOS setting from dynamicly switchable to fixed using this: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02948560&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5112006&tmp_track_link=ot_search

He also said that if autogiga could be configured to use DirectX instead of OpenGL, it would be able to use the dynamic switching feature and would probably not hit this bug.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:16 am
by Lionel Laissus
On my HP DV7t-61xx I installed that driver it works pretty well:
http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp55001-55500/sp55092.html
http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp55001-55500/sp55092.exe

Make sure there is not even a drop of the old drivers stay stuck, sometime it's tricky to completely wipe out it.
Also double check the version of the BIOS "F1.B" . About the BIOS settings set "Switchable GFX mode" on "FIXED"

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:23 am
by mgrant
To those with this same problem on HP dv7 laptop, yes, this updated driver does solve the problem. This driver is no longer recommended for the dv7 laptop, but you can install it anyway.

But be warned, when I installed this driver, the laptop crashed during installation. I installed it a second time without error. It does solve the problem.

This laptop has two GPUs and switches between them. If you use the "High Performance" GPU, the problem does not appear.

Thanks to Lionel for having the very same laptop!

Michael