Autopano Pro 2.6 Failure.  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
999Aidie
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:42 pm
Info

Autopano Pro 2.6 Failure.

by 999Aidie » Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:53 pm

Hi,
I've been using Autopano Pro 2.5 with a great deal of sucess, to the point that I was ready to buy the licence key, well that was until I downloaded version 2.6, it's a total disaster.
I select my images and start off the detection process and all I get in the opposite window is a right old mess, yep total Garbage. When you try and edit this mess it stays the same, no way can you straighten it out, the DAFT THING ABOUT IT IS IT DOES RENDER A PANORAMA WHEN PRESSED TO DO SO.

I'm surprised no one else has reported or noted this problem as you cannot edit anything as the preview windows don't work, I did try sending a message and that doesn't work as well, sounds familiar !

Any chance of getting this fixed ?:mad:

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:12 pm

When reporting a problem you are requested to say what version of the software you are using and on which operating system. Do you have GPU enabled? If so, what GPU does you graphics card use?

It might also help to say a bit more about the image set - what camera body and lens are you using, and what shooting pattern? Are the images bracketed or single expsoures per shooting position?
Last edited by mediavets on Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
Nanard
Member
 
Posts: 150
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 11:00 pm
Location: France
Info

by Nanard » Fri Dec 23, 2011 6:52 pm

999Aidie wrote:Hi,
I've been using Autopano Pro 2.5 with a great deal of sucess, to the point that I was ready to buy the licence key, well that was until I downloaded version 2.6, it's a total disaster.

Just my 2 cents, as this sounds familiar.
In the preferences\panorama\'preferred scope' : don't choose max , but 'reduced to content' .
The default for this option is different between 2.5 and 2.6. Don't ask me why !
Quotes are due to my free translation from the french gui.
Bernard

no avatar
999Aidie
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:42 pm
Info

by 999Aidie » Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:56 pm

Hi Andrew,
I'm running Vista on a Laptop, with 2gig memory. Version 2.5 worked a treat, version 2.6 is a proverbial disaster, now please don't tell me to get a new laptop. I use various cameras including a Canon 500D, all the Panoramas I'm having trouble with rendered superbly with 2.5 ( All single image in jpeg ) but look a complete mess in 2.6.
Why don't they leave 2.5 on the site until problems are sorted as I can see I am not the only one with a headache.

Cheers.


Have tried messing about with the settings but no luck RMS stated as 2.29. Nothing makes any difference to the preview panels.
Last edited by 999Aidie on Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:05 pm

999Aidie wrote:I'm running Vista on a Laptop, with 2gig memory. Version 2.5 worked a treat, version 2.6 is a proverbial disaster, now please don't tell me to get a new laptop.

I take it that is 32-bit Vista? 2GB RAM is now the min. requirement for APP/APG.

A 64-bit OS with 4GB or more RAM is preferred.

I use various cameras including a Canon 500D

Are you using fisheye lenses? How many images typically comprise one of your panos?
all the Panoramas I'm having trouble with rendered superbly with 2.5 ( All single image in jpeg ) but look a complete mess in 2.6.

Can you show us a screenshot of the 'complete mess'
Why don't they leave 2.5 on the site until problems are sorted as I can see I am not the only one with a headache.

You will find previous version of Autopanop Pro here:
http://download.kolor.com/app/stable/history

And previous versions of Autopano Giga here:
http://download.kolor.com/apg/stable/history
Last edited by mediavets on Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
999Aidie
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:42 pm
Info

by 999Aidie » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:47 pm

Hi Andrew,
Thanks for the link to the Archive, have installed version 2.5.2 and it works straight out of the tin, no problems at all.

Yes I'm running Vista 32 bit, I use a 12mm Ultra Wide Angle lens from time to time my Pano's compirise of 4 to 20 images some taken on a Manfrotto 303sp or Manfrotto 302 Art QTVR but some are on a specialist rig I manufactured myself, others I swing round on the tripod and when I really pushed for time then it's hand held.
Just uinstalled version 2.6 but there was nothing except a small black blob in the preview panel and a whole larger blob in the edit panel.

The test piece had rendered fine in 2.5.2 but failed in 2.6 as stated before the preview panels were just a black mess, although it did render an image you had no way of knowing if you needed to edit anything.

Cheers.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:39 pm

999Aidie wrote:Just uinstalled version 2.6 but there was nothing except a small black blob in the preview panel and a whole larger blob in the edit panel.

The test piece had rendered fine in 2.5.2 but failed in 2.6 as stated before the preview panels were just a black mess, although it did render an image you had no way of knowing if you needed to edit anything.

Cheers.

I may be mistaken but I believe you can have both 2.5.2 and 2.6 installed at the same time.

I wonder if your laptop has an ATI GPU as there have been problems reported with some ATI GPUs.

I believe GPU is enabled by default in 2.6 but not in 2.5.2.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:36 pm

If the preview is black in 2.6, it is caused by GPU enabled by default and ATI drivers not up to date. So two solutions :
- update the ATI drivers
- disable the GPU mode which is enabled by default in 2.6 and not 2.5

no avatar
jaimebm
Member
 
Posts: 13
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:51 pm
Info

by jaimebm » Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:45 am

I think I got the same mess, like images are overlaped with some fade and mirrored. Take a look at my post with image about

no avatar
hermer-blr
Member
 
Posts: 237
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Near Paris - France
Info

by hermer-blr » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:33 am

FYI: My desktop configuration is Windows XP 32 bits with 2 Gbytes of RAM. APG 2.6 works perfectly well (I have tested up to 69 images pano), although it is slower than 2.5. With 2.6, it is also worth restarting the software after detection in order to make the rendering faster (bad memory management within APG 2.6 ???).

I confirm that 2.5 and 2.6 can be installed simultaneously in the computer.

Today, I will try to find 2 additional GBytes (the max possible with XP 32) and see how it improves the runtime.
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr

no avatar
hermer-blr
Member
 
Posts: 237
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Near Paris - France
Info

by hermer-blr » Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:51 pm

I made an upgrade of my windows XP 32 configuration from 2 to 4 Gbytes.

When editing the APG parameters, there is no change:

- previously I could use up to 900 MBytes out of 2 GBytes
- now, I can use up to 900 MBytes out of 2.7 GBytes

Strange: logically, APG should authorize up to 1.6 GBytes !

For information : this is a characteristic of Win XP 32 that when installing 4 GBytes the OS only displays cat. 2.7 GBytes as available ! The 4 Gbytes are however said to be used !
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:26 pm

That's the problem with windows in 32bits mode : a single application cannot address more than 2GB. Moreover, amount this part, the OS is also reserving some part. And others application too. As a result with 32bits OS, you cannot address more than 1 GB, 1.1 GB or 1.2 GB if you are lucky ( meaning, you just rebooted ).
So to prevent a lot of crash, we did add this 900 MB limit so that most of the time, it works.

BTW : about memory management under 32 bits OS.
The memory slider in autopano is to reserve RAM for the rendering, so that this part is working flawlessly. Or if you reserve a lot of the RAM for the rendering, you might run out of RAM for detection / edition. So, this is why you can work in the following workflow better :
- reduce the memory reserved to 400 MB. Restart, do the detection, edition, everything except rendering.
- raise the ram again to the max value, restart autopano. Drag' n'drop .pano file to batch render so the rendering does occurs directly.

It works quite well this way.
BTW : you have a flag in general setting to reduce the memory usage during anti-ghost stage. This could be useful when having the no more free block message during rendering.

no avatar
hermer-blr
Member
 
Posts: 237
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Near Paris - France
Info

by hermer-blr » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:13 pm

Thank you for the valuable information of your reply.

With my new memory configuration, I have only made one test sofar, by re-rendering the panorama I had just rendered before. This was a 9 images panorama (3 views + bracketing). The run time was reduced from 20 minutes to 8 !!! This difference may also (partly ?) result from the memory setting: 400 MBytes (for the 20 minutes test with 2 GBytes memory) vs. the full 900 MBytes (for the 8 minutes test with 4 GBytes memory).

I have also noticed that the panorama detection time is much longer in 2.6 than it was in 2.5. In 2.6, I note that the two cores are working 100 % during this step. Hence, is this time increase due to changes in the algorithms (eg lens distortion correction) ? The result is perfect (RMS cat. 0.8), but it was already perfect in 2.5 for those panoramas (landscapes, one raw of 5 images + bracketing).
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:29 pm

In 2.6, the part that can be longer is "optimization stage" only. Because of the new lens distortion correction quality. All other part should be the same or a bit faster.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron