Sudden behavior: use of horizontal perspective control corrupts panos  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
MJSfoto1956
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 32
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:54 pm
Info

Sudden behavior: use of horizontal perspective control corrupts panos

by MJSfoto1956 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:02 am

So I have been using the latest version of APP 2.0.9 for several weeks now (perhaps months?) and I have a new behavior which I cannot explain.

The short story: if I attempt to use the horizontal perspective control mechanism with even a small panorama it corrupts the file upon save. The behavior of the corruption is this: when I attempt to launch the file at a later date, the file "loads" but no image is shown. If I attempt to edit the control points it crashes.

NOTE: if I don't use the horizontal perspective control, the pano edits and/or renders properly.

So is this one of those cases where "something" in the MS framework has gotten damaged somehow and I need to reinstall the whole shebang?

Michael

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2943
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble
Info

by GURL » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:15 pm

;) It's like trying to fix a car using the phone...

Go to Edit - Settings - General , deselect the GPU processing option if selected (this could help or not.)

Several Editor tools can be used to change perspective (Vanishing point, Automatic horizon, Vertical, Modify-yaw-pitch-roll, different projection modes.) Which one are you using?

Sometimes closing and re-launching Windows is enough (BTW, I guess your are using Windows, but?), sometimes reinstalling Autopano can help (but not often.)

Courage and happy new year!
Georges

no avatar
MJSfoto1956
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 32
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:54 pm
Info

by MJSfoto1956 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:40 pm

Merci Georges,

GPU is not enabled. Yes it is a Windows XP laptop with 2gb RAM. No other apps running. The APP tool that I have not been able to use anymore is the "Verticals Tool" -- particularly in horizontal mode. Rebooting Windows does not help.

So, should I reinstall APP? or some Windows components? Or wait until 2.0.10?

Michael

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:13 pm

MJSfoto1956 wrote:Merci Georges,

GPU is not enabled. Yes it is a Windows XP laptop with 2gb RAM. No other apps running. The APP tool that I have not been able to use anymore is the "Verticals Tool" -- particularly in horizontal mode. Rebooting Windows does not help.

So, should I reinstall APP? or some Windows components? Or wait until 2.0.10?

Michael

You could try installing V2.5 RC1 - this will become the next release there will never be a 2.0.10:

http://www.autopano.net/forum/p73982-2010-12-14-12-48-15#p73982
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:16 pm

Can you explain more precsiely what you mean when you refer to "the horizontal perspective control mechanism" - I'm not sure I understand what tool(s) you are using, nor how you are using it/them, nor what effect you are seeking to achieve.

Some screenshots might help document the problem.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
MJSfoto1956
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 32
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:54 pm
Info

by MJSfoto1956 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:41 pm

@mediavets: as described in the previous post, I'm talking about the "Verticals Tool" with the horizontal radio button selected. The effect I am trying to achieve is to change the horizontal perspective of the image (no different than changing the vertical perspective of an image).

@GURL et mediavets: if I decide to install the RC1, I assume this is beta software? If it causes problems is it straightforward to roll back to 2.0.9?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:43 pm

MJSfoto1956 wrote:@mediavets: as described in the previous post, I'm talking about the "Verticals Tool" with the horizontal radio button selected. The effect I am trying to achieve is to change the horizontal perspective of the image (no different than changing the vertical perspective of an image).

@GURL et mediavets: if I decide to install the RC1, I assume this is beta software? If it causes problems is it straightforward to roll back to 2.0.9?

You can have both installed at the same time.
Last edited by mediavets on Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
MJSfoto1956
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 32
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:54 pm
Info

by MJSfoto1956 » Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:23 pm

WOW! 2.5 renders significantly faster on my Windows XP laptop! I can't wait for the final version to come out. Great job improving performance guys! This is going to be a big upgrade!

(unfortunately, I still cannot get horizontal lines to align with my recent images -- I wonder if the fact that I process my images in DxO is perhaps part of the problem?)

Michael

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:32 pm

MJSfoto1956 wrote:(unfortunately, I still cannot get horizontal lines to align with my recent images -- I wonder if the fact that I process my images in DxO is perhaps part of the problem?)

Michael

Does DXO remove the EXIF?
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron