Testing a Manual pano head  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
irpano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 315
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:04 am
Info

Testing a Manual pano head

by irpano » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:19 am

Whilst waiting for my Merlin head to be repaired i manufactured a manual pano head and in the process of testing the operation and accuracy I came across the following anomolies.
I understand that everyone is experimenting with 2.5 and the screen shots are from 2.09, but the same situation occurs for all 3 versions of APP (2.09, 2.5, 2.5 Giga)

5 simple images taken through my study window. (Outside weather poor)
Each image taken with Canon 30D F/16 @ 1/10 sec, ISO 100 - Raw file.
Images converted with Canon Digital Photo Professional into 72 dpi JPG's
5 JPG image dropped int APP 2.09 with Settings of 50 cp's, all images in same pano
Each image has EXIF info attached according to opanda 2.3 and APP.

My question ,in trying to understand if its my head or APP that is at fault, is
Why does APP not recognise the pano- (See screen shot)
....... Is this something important or a minor reporting error

After detection The setup of the head seems OK ((Forget the non level aspect) - The pivot points for Yaw and pitch seem OK and because of using a 100mm lense the fore/aft point is not at nodal point,
....... The software reports that the RMS is excellent at 1.99 and the pano looks ok on screen.

Any suggestions as to the cause of this situation would be appreciated



User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3550
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:56 am

hmm curious.

you created an empty group
added the 5 images
than you clicked on "Detect" button
the pano was detected as shown on screenshot...
... and on the headline of the group not "1 poanorama found" but instead "no panorama found in this group" was displayed?

if so I cant image a reason why the panohead could cause such a result...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

no avatar
irpano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 315
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:04 am
Info

by irpano » Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:26 am

Georg. My thoughts are similar to yours. I wonder what the application is looking for when it tries to make a pano out of supposedly 5 reasonably exposed and adequately overlaped images. Maybe it just a code error that displays the wrong message in the headline. Can someone from APP explain?


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests