Page 1 of 2

Automatic Tour

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:57 pm
by sjosyula
Hello,

I am about to complete my project of a virtual tour consisiting of 35 zones.

We have a ultra large video wall on which I demonstrated the progress. One of the ideas was to automate the entire tour.

Say, the tour starts from the entrance of the building, goes to the next region turns around, shows everything and proceeds to the next room..and so on... Also if this is possible, we want to combine the virtual tour along with some signage info, and play it as a loop during publicty..

any ideas on how to automate the entire tour ?

Thanks,
Sandeep.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 4:10 am
by digipano
As of now you cant do this with APT but on krpano forums there was something similar discussed by the author doing it with xml coding.

Here you can read about it.
http://www.krpano.com/forum/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&postID=8359#post8359

hope this helps & would like to see your automated tour.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:39 am
by mediavets
digipano wrote:As of now you cant do this with APT

But I wish you could either with multiple panos or within a very his-res pano, with synched audio commentary and captions.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:44 am
by mediavets
sjosyula wrote:Hello,

I am about to complete my project of a virtual tour consisiting of 35 zones.

We have a ultra large video wall on which I demonstrated the progress. One of the ideas was to automate the entire tour.

Say, the tour starts from the entrance of the building, goes to the next region turns around, shows everything and proceeds to the next room..and so on... Also if this is possible, we want to combine the virtual tour along with some signage info, and play it as a loop during publicty..

any ideas on how to automate the entire tour ?

Thanks,
Sandeep.

There is a new tool that appears to do some/most of what you want but (only) with panos created using Pano2VR:
http://ww2.360panotours.com/

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:19 am
by digipano
Andrew great find but why does it only work for panos done with Pano2vr.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:09 pm
by sjosyula
That was exactly what I wanted. Thanks Andrew.

I guess I will download the demo version and see how does it work.

Thanks again.

However, I was thinking to manually move around the tour, and record it at a super high resolution with a screen recorder.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:17 pm
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:There is a new tool that appears to do some/most of what you want but (only) with panos created using Pano2VR:
http://ww2.360panotours.com/

Hi Andrew!

Are you sure it works only with Pano2VR panos? I ordered it today - tried the trial by using my .swf generated with APT and PTP.
Doesn´t work . . black screen.
In my mind a .swf is a .swf . . what makes the difference to APT/PTP?

I´m, a bit stressed now - have to get an automat tour ready on Friday.

best, Klaus

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:31 pm
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:There is a new tool that appears to do some/most of what you want but (only) with panos created using Pano2VR:
http://ww2.360panotours.com/

Hi Andrew!

Are you sure it works only with Pano2VR panos?

Yes, I'm sure.
I´m, a bit stressed now - have to get an automat tour ready on Friday.

best, Klaus

So how will you do it?

Will you recreate the Flash panos using Pano2VR?

That would not take long, nor cost much.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:04 pm
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:Will you recreate the Flash panos using Pano2VR?
That would not take long, nor cost much.

Guess i´ll have to . .

Thanks for your help!

Maybe i´ll ring again when i start to use Pano2VR - never came close to it before . .

best, Klaus

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:16 pm
by mediavets
Some comments:

1. For use with the 360panogallery auto tour tool make each pano into a separate SWF.

2. You won't - I guess - want/need to have any navigation buttons/icons.

3. I'm told you will get better quality output if you change the default interpolator to Blackmann/Sinc.

4. Set cube face size to approx. pano-horizontal-pixels/pi

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:25 pm
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:Some comments:

1. For use with the 360panogallery auto tour tool make each pano into a separate SWF.

2. You won't - I guess - want/need to have any navigation buttons/icons.

3. I'm told you will get better quality output if you change the default interpolator to Blackmann/Sinc.

4. Set cube face size to approx. pano-horizontal-pixels/pi

Thanks - i will do it in the morning . . have to get some sleep after about 24 of working on some big pictures . . :cool:

best to you, Klaus

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:52 pm
by klausesser
Hey Andrew -- still on . . .

I used the trial of P2Vr and generated a .swf. But it doesn´t run in the 360app.
I edited the xml, gave it the name of the pano . . no working, black screen . .
What am i doing wrong - any idea?

best, Klaus

Must i set autorotation in P2VR or in the 360app?
I´ll do a screenshot - looks a bit different from your panel.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:15 am
by klausesser
Hi Andrew!

Do i have to generate each node as one or do i have to generate all nodes together?
What settings to use in P2VR to have it run in 360 like the example?
I´m a bit confused how to use it for making the automaticc tour . . ;-)

best, Klaus

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:19 am
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:Hey Andrew -- still on . . .
I used the trial of P2Vr and generated a .swf. But it doesn´t run in the 360app.
I edited the xml, gave it the name of the pano . . no working, black screen . .
What am i doing wrong - any idea?

Not sure. It worked when I did a little trial.

The SWF files must be in same directory/folder.

Must i set autorotation in P2VR or in the 360app?

When I did a little trial I didn't set autorotation in Pano2VR.
I´ll do a screenshot - looks a bit different from your panel.

OK - show me.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:22 am
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:Hi Andrew!

Do i have to generate each node as one or do i have to generate all nodes together?

Each node (pano) should be a separate SWF
What settings to use in P2VR to have it run in 360 like the example?

Here's simple example:

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:49 am
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:Hi Andrew!

Do i have to generate each node as a single one or do i have to generate all nodes together?

Each node (pano) should be a separate SWF
What settings to use in P2VR to have it run in 360 like the example?

Here's simple example:

Do you put all the nodes into the P2VR window at the same time? Do you use links between them for the Auto-Tour?

As i understand it it has to be single panos, no links between them, no Autorot. set in P2VR but enabled in the 360app.

Right?

best, Klaus

P.S.: i use 10000px width - must i set the cubesizes smaller than in APT/PTP (i use the auto-scaling there).

Just looking for a tutorial for P2Vr.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:55 am
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:Do you put all the nodes into the P2VR window at the same time?

No - because it can only handle one at a time. Just output a separate SWF for each node.
Do you use links between them for the Auto-Tour?

No - the 360panogallery stuff links them in an auto tour.
As i understand it it has to be single panos, no links between them, no Autorot. set in P2VR but enabled in the 360app.

Right?

Yes, pretty much correct.

You can set autorotation in Pano2VR but the parameters in the 360panogallery XML overide those set when creating the SWF in Pano2VR.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:59 am
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:P.S.: i use 10000px width - must i set the cubesizes smaller than in APT/PTP (i use the auto-scaling there).

Then for max. res use a cube face size of approx. 10,000/pi (pi; that is 3.142). This should be about the same as APT/PTP would calculate as optimal size.

Just looking for a tutorial for Pano2Vr.

Here; but you shouldn't really need one as we are only doing simple conversion to Flash for the auto tour application.
http://gardengnomesoftware.com/tutorial.php

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:09 am
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:P.S.: i use 10000px width - must i set the cubesizes smaller than in APT/PTP (i use the auto-scaling there).

Then for max. res use a cube face size of approx. 10,000/pi (pi; that is 3.142). This should be about the same as APT/PTP would calculate as optimal size.

Just looking for a tutorial for Pano2Vr.

Here; but you shouldn't really need one as we are only doing simple conversion to Flash for the auto tour application.
http://gardengnomesoftware.com/tutorial.php

Just right now i realize to having set a cut size to 512 . . i guess there must be no cutting . . is it?
So i´d have to set it to zero, right?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:17 am
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:Just right now i realize to having set a cut size to 512 . . i guess there must be no cutting . . is it?
So i´d have to set it to zero, right?

Not sure what you mean - in which program and in which settings dialogue are you setting this 'cut size' to 512?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:21 am
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:Just right now i realize to having set a cut size to 512 . . i guess there must be no cutting . . is it?
So i´d have to set it to zero, right?

Not sure what you mean - in which program and in which settings dialogue are you setting this 'cut size' to 512?

In AutopanoTour beneath the cubic-size you have the cutting-size for multires. I always use 512 for my 10000px width images.

best, Klaus

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 12:20 pm
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:Just right now i realize to having set a cut size to 512 . . i guess there must be no cutting . . is it?
So i´d have to set it to zero, right?

Not sure what you mean - in which program and in which settings dialogue are you setting this 'cut size' to 512?

In AutopanoTour beneath the cubic-size you have the cutting-size for multires. I always use 512 for my 10000px width images.

best, Klaus

Errrr... you have to use Pano2VR to create the SWF files for use with 360panogallery.

Note these recommendations from the comments in the 360panogallery XML file.

Generate your panos with Pano2VR with the following considerations:
a) Use "Scaling With Window"
b) Use 50 FPS for Frame Rate
c) Use Autorotate and specify zero seconds for delay
d) Generate your panoramas for Flash 9/10

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:21 pm
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:Not sure what you mean - in which program and in which settings dialogue are you setting this 'cut size' to 512?

In AutopanoTour beneath the cubic-size you have the cutting-size for multires. I always use 512 for my 10000px width images.

best, Klaus

Errrr... you have to use Pano2VR to create the SWF files for use with 360panogallery.

Note these recommendations from the comments in the 360panogallery XML file.

Generate your panos with Pano2VR with the following considerations:
a) Use "Scaling With Window"
b) Use 50 FPS for Frame Rate
c) Use Autorotate and specify zero seconds for delay
d) Generate your panoramas for Flash 9/10

Hey Andrew!

I know that - but: what´s the diference between a APT-swf and a P2Vr-swf? When i embed all data in the .swf there should be no difference at all . .

I got P2Vr right now - first tests didn´t work with 360pano . . i contacted Arturo already.

Will tell how it works - guess i´ll get it run at last . . :cool::cool:

best to you, Klaus

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:30 pm
by mediavets
klausesser wrote:I know that - but: what´s the diference between a APT-swf and a P2Vr-swf? When i embed all data in the .swf there should be no difference at all . .

They are 'inherently' associated with different pano viewers - respectively the krpano Flash pano viewer and the Pano2VR Flash pano viewer; which are not interchangable.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:43 pm
by klausesser
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:I know that - but: what´s the diference between a APT-swf and a P2Vr-swf? When i embed all data in the .swf there should be no difference at all . .

They are 'inherently' associated with different pano viewers - respectively the krpano Flash pano viewer and the Pano2VR Flash pano viewer; which are not interchangable.

ok - i see! Arturo asked me to send him some files for testing. I´m going on right now after having some tea . . came back home just half an hour ago.

thank you, Andrew - i´ll keep in touch with you. Expanded the deadline to Friday noon.

best, Klaus