I get 370 no virtual 360  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Tour problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Marv
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 240
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:45 pm
Location: Gig Harbor USA
Info

I get 370 no virtual 360

by Marv » Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:05 am

Every so once in a while I get a panorama thats a 380, not a 360 that I can turn into a virtual continual panorama. It stops at the start and end images.

Back in pre-AP & APT I shot on a regular tripod 5 panoramas... all with 30-40% overlap and a nice even flat road in the foreground. 4 are just fine, but the 5th one with about 20-30% overlap at the start and end, appearently will not stich at that seam.

What's up? Can I force it?
Marv...

Nikon D700, Nikor 10.5mm DX (Shaved), Nikor 12-24mm DX, Modified Nodal NN180, Home made Nodal Ninja NN5 type Pano head, Really Right Stuff Plate & Clamps, Windows XP.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:30 pm

If you put the image set on-line somewhere (preferably as a ZIP file) I will be happy to download it and take a look.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
Judy-A
Member
 
Posts: 228
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:17 pm
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Info

by Judy-A » Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:48 pm

In the Control Point Editor Ctrl-click to select the two end images, so one image shows in each window. Marquee the areas they have in common and click the 'add control points' icon.

http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Control_Points_Editor#Add_Control_Points

Now you must optimize, preferably in stages. The ‘Adjust lens distortion’ setting will fit the pano perfectly within the 360˚ sphere.

http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/view/Control_Points_Editor#Optimization

no avatar
Marv
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 240
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:45 pm
Location: Gig Harbor USA
Info

by Marv » Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:56 pm

Thanks Andrew, do you know a good secure site? If not I'll have my own upload/download thing built into my new website in a few days.
I found a fix, but I would still like to know why it did not work. By shear luck/accident, I shot my start point image as also my last image. So I simply used images 1841-1849 instead of 1840-1848. I don't know why but it worked perfect, but I would like to know why the 1840-1848 did not, if your game. I was lucky I shot the extra safety frame, I normally do not do that.

I had this happen once before when I shot in a huge warehouse and there was this huge black drape curtain that I started my shot with (my start point mistake).
Marv...

Nikon D700, Nikor 10.5mm DX (Shaved), Nikor 12-24mm DX, Modified Nodal NN180, Home made Nodal Ninja NN5 type Pano head, Really Right Stuff Plate & Clamps, Windows XP.

no avatar
Marv
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 240
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:45 pm
Location: Gig Harbor USA
Info

by Marv » Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:59 pm

Hi Judy,

Thanks, that fixed an alignment problem I had but it did not resolve the stiching issue. Basicly it took my first and last image and left the overlap on the ends and refused to seam the overlap to complete the virtual.

BTW this is a part of a set of 5 360's (1 is a 270) of ground zero devestation of Katrina/9th ward a block apart. I'll post the link Mon or Tue.
Marv...

Nikon D700, Nikor 10.5mm DX (Shaved), Nikor 12-24mm DX, Modified Nodal NN180, Home made Nodal Ninja NN5 type Pano head, Really Right Stuff Plate & Clamps, Windows XP.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron