Which GoPro versions work with Freedom rig?  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
no avatar
jboss
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 21
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Info

Which GoPro versions work with Freedom rig?

by jboss » Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:03 pm

Hi,

Can someone give me a clear answer on which GoPro versions work with the Freedom rig?I learned already that the Hero without a number does not work, because it does not fit. But for the Hero 3 I'm getting really confused that different colors seem to have different specs, so simply saying you need a Hero 3 seems not to be accurate.

So for the Hero 3 I found that you need ProTune mode to achieve 360 degree stitching and according to this link (http://gopro.com/support/articles/how-to-use-protune) it is only available on the Hero 3 Black edition and Hero 3 Silver edition. Does that mean that the Hero 3 White edition can not be used???? And does anybody know where I can buy the Black or Silver edition (preferably in the Netherlands)? It is not available on the GoPro site and I can't find it on comparison sites.

And for the 3+ version, again, Protune is only available on 3+ Black, does that mean that the 3+ Silver does not work??

Thanks,
Joost

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: Which GoPro versions work with Freedom rig?

by gkaefer » Sat Jun 06, 2015 12:38 am

freedom 360 Explorer Plus is for Hero 4 only:
http://store.kolor.com/360-degree-video ... -plus.html

"The Freedom Rig 360 has been specifically designed to allow the mounting of your GoPro cameras (Hero3/Hero3+/Hero4) with specific notches and screwed plates. "
http://store.kolor.com/360-degree-video ... g-360.html

about vodeo mode needed see here:
http://freedom360.us/camera-settings/

so for your Hero 3 White:

The H3W has one video resolution that can be used with the Freedom360:
•960P (1280x960px) at 25 and 30 fps (final size about 3600x1800px)

Pick the frame rate you think you need for your production and for your master file.

Protune: the H3W has no Protune feature, the video footage will have high contrast (clipped blacks and whites), as well as the standard data rate (about 15mbit/sec).

White balance: The H3W has only auto white balance.





Georg

no avatar
jboss
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 21
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 2:26 pm
Info

Re: Which GoPro versions work with Freedom rig?

by jboss » Sat Jun 06, 2015 9:32 pm

Thanks!

I guess the weird GoPro logic on types got me messed up (different numbers, different colors, each having their own specs, I'm glad they don't make cars.... The red car will go 200km/h, but the black one only 160, oh and the red one doesn't have airco..... :-) )


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron