Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:39 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:57 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:34 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Zürich
Hi all,

I just want to know how the motorised arms allow such deep zoom. I know that they can take hundreds of images which helps but do they automatically take shots at different focal lengths as well to give the depth?? I mean, can I just program one of these things, stand back and let it run, or do I need to change the focal length and run it again and again to achieve the results?

I can't understand how the machines produce these gigapanos if they don't also change the focal lengths.

Many thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:31 am 
Online
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13850
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
savski wrote:
Hi all,

I just want to know how the motorised arms allow such deep zoom. I know that they can take hundreds of images which helps but do they automatically take shots at different focal lengths as well to give the depth?? I mean, can I just program one of these things, stand back and let it run, or do I need to change the focal length and run it again and again to achieve the results?

I can't understand how the machines produce these gigapanos if they don't also change the focal lengths.

Many thanks in advance!


I don't know of any robotioc pano heads that - by themselves - can automate focusing of a camera/lens during shoot.

Depending on the scene and your camera/lens choice you may be able to get everything in focus by setting you camera/lens at the hyperfocal distance:

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutori ... stance.htm

Or you may need to refocus manually during the shoot. I read that some choose to check/re-focus every row, it helps if you robotic pano head can automatically pause at the start of each row in this case.

there are third-party hardware and software tools that can automate focus stacking but I don't know if anyone has tried using them along with an robotic pano head. It would add considerable extra image processing before stitching.

Reshooting entire multi-gigapixel panos at different focus settings in a serial fashion, is unlikely to be successful because of the time it would take, and changes in light levels, movements in the scene and so on.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:02 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7712
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
savski wrote:
I can't understand how the machines produce these gigapanos if they don't also change the focal lengths.



Hi!

The onlky thing they do is to shoot panoramas using long or very long focal-lengths.
This results in very much images.
This results in a very big final image.
This reults in a very high possible 1:1 scaling.
This results in a very deep zooming @1:1.

See here: i used 85mm on 21Mpx, reulting in about 3,5-4 Gigapixels on a full sphere:
http://360impressions.de/KBogen413/

PanoTourPro makes it to VERY much small tiles - which get assembled when you
load them to your browser as an interactive panorama.

So: no rocket science at all - but also not really easy :cool:

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jypy and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group