Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:16 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13978
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
The free DSLRdashboard app. for Android enables an Android tablet to be used as a remote control for Nikon and Canon DSLRs.

It also runs on Windows,Mac and Linux PCs; and there is now also a version of iOS, but I have no experience of that.

I have tried it with a Nikon D5100 and a Nexus 7 32GB first generation Android 4.4.4 tablet.

It provides liveview (and post shot review and optional download) on the tablet display plus access to most (all?) camera controls via the tablet touchscreen.

It can also do timelapse, extended bracketing and image stacking.

If your tablet supports USB OTG then you just need an appropriate USB OTG cable to connect to the camera via your camera USB data cable for wired remote control.

Alternatively you can use a TP-Link TL-MR3040 portable battery powered wireless N router with modified firmware and connect to the camera from your tablet via Wifi for wireless remote control.

More information:

http://www.dslrdashboard.info

http://lrtimelapse.com/gear/dslrdashboard/

http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/deta ... =TL-MR3040

http://forum.lrtimelapse.com/Thread-vid ... 3040--3752

About the version for iOS ($9.99 from iTunes):

http://dslrdashboard.info/qdslrdashboar ... r-ios-now/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:52 am
Posts: 81
Location: adelaide south australia
:) hi Mediavets I have the Camranger which is the same thing when I got it, It was the only one to support Ipad ,I have back and hip problems so I had to give up outdoor Macro photography =( =( ,thanks to this device all is go again ,the only problem with Camranger is it does not allow me to adjust Nikon creative lighting system, it would be nice to change flash power not camera settings, does this set up do this I have not seen anything in docs to see that it does cheers rolly1


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13978
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
The answer seems to be 'Yes,if the camera makes CLS available via PTP.'
Some do and some (such as the D7100 ) do not.

You could ask about your camera on the dslrdashboard forum
http://dslrdashboard.info/forum/


Attachments:
tmp_18681-Screenshot_2014-09-13-06-08-131433815418.png
tmp_18681-Screenshot_2014-09-13-06-08-131433815418.png [ 128.02 KiB | Viewed 55 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2014 2:33 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:52 am
Posts: 81
Location: adelaide south australia
thankyou for that, I mist that screen when I was looking at the manual on the web site , first I might send email to camranger web site and see if they are going to add it since it should work, my D800 is listed that's weird that 7100 is not capable , This wireless control is really good but when you have it all set up and then you find you have to pick it up to change the flash output its a bit of a pain to set it up again ,can't wait until I get my new hips been on the waiting list for over 3 years probably be another 12 to 18 months wait cheers rolly1


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group