What mode?  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
no avatar
marbotrade
Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:29 pm

What mode?

by marbotrade » Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:38 pm

Hi,
When use fisheye, indoors, you use auto mode or manual?
Because if use Manual mode, and freeze ISO, WB, exposure, when you take the shoot on wall with window, are very dark.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: What mode?

by mediavets » Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:55 am

marbotrade wrote:Hi,
When use fisheye, indoors, you use auto mode or manual?
Because if use Manual mode, and freeze ISO, WB, exposure, when you take the shoot on wall with window, are very dark.


All manual.

Use exposure bracketing to capture the full dynamic range.

no avatar
marbotrade
Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: What mode?

by marbotrade » Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:29 am

All manual.

Arround 50 panoramas, with 9 photos wach of them, how long did it take...in manual mode.

Manual mode is usefull for 1-2 panoramas...

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: What mode?

by mediavets » Thu Oct 30, 2014 10:25 am

marbotrade wrote:All manual.

Around 50 panoramas, with 9 photos each of them, how long did it take...in manual mode.

Manual mode is usefull for 1-2 panoramas...


Interior spherical panos are perhaps the most demanding to shoot - if you are not willing to take the time you have to put up with the consequences.

But with the appropriate equipment and technique there's no reason why it should take that much longer to shoot bracketed exposures.

The AEB capability of the majority of cameras is inadequate to capture the full dynamic range of many 360x180 scenes. Devices such as the Promote control enable much more extensive exposure bracketing with major brands of DSLR:

http://www.promotesystems.com/products/ ... ntrol.html

no avatar
marbotrade
Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: What mode?

by marbotrade » Sun Nov 02, 2014 8:32 pm

Now, I have a room with 4 wals, and only a window for sun light.
On which side of the camera will choose the ISO reference?
A,B,C, or D.
Attachments
ISO_eng.jpg

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: What mode?

by mediavets » Mon Nov 03, 2014 9:20 am

You should choose an ISO value that results in an acceptable level of noise in the image - that will depend on your camera.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: What mode?

by klausesser » Mon Nov 03, 2014 1:19 pm

marbotrade wrote:Now, I have a room with 4 wals, and only a window for sun light.
On which side of the camera will choose the ISO reference?
A,B,C, or D.



Use 100ISO, shoot bracketed ( -/0/+) and take a "0" measure on the wall which shows
average brightness - which most likely will be the centers of A and C.

Depending on your camera: with a Canon a bracketing of 3 steps with 2 EV spacing (-2/0/+2) is universal.
If you use a Nikon you instead need to shoot 5 steps with 1 EV spacing to achieve the same effect.

Shooting bracketed you can be assured the camera covers *all* the brightness- and shadow-
parts in the room correctly.

I suggest the use of Photomatix to merge the steps with tonemapping to a single TIFF file.

But you also can put the sets straight into APG and let it do the merging . . . . I never do so, that´s why
i´m not sure whether that is a clever way . .

Basically when you do panos: always use manual measuring of aperture and time, WB and focus.
NO automatics at all!

good luck, Klaus

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: What mode?

by klausesser » Mon Nov 03, 2014 1:24 pm

marbotrade wrote:All manual.

Arround 50 panoramas, with 9 photos wach of them, how long did it take...in manual mode.

Manual mode is usefull for 1-2 panoramas...


Depends on what you want to achieve: an easy going way or good results.

You wouldn´t need to shoot 7 or 9 steps (guess you use a Nikon) per position as long as you have *extreme* lights.
In 95% of the cases 5 steps will do fine, if you take your measuring intelligently.

Klaus

P.S.:
which lens do you use - how many shots do you need for a sphere?

Indoors i usually shoot 45 x 5 images for a sphere = 1,2GPx, 5 step bracketing.
Doesnt´t take signifficantly much longer than 3 steps.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: What mode?

by klausesser » Mon Nov 03, 2014 1:41 pm

mediavets wrote:The AEB capability of the majority of cameras is inadequate to capture the full dynamic range of many 360x180 scenes. Devices such as the Promote control enable much more extensive exposure bracketing with major brands of DSLR:


Yes - but this has changed. Many actual cameras usually can do 3 steps with 2 EV spacing (Canon) or start at 3 steps
with 1 EV spacing (Nikon).

The problem with Nikon is: to achieve a 3 step/2 EV spacing - which in most cases is optimal - you need to shoot
5 steps and throw away 3 before merging . . . or you buy a Promote and let it make the Nikon do 3 steps of 2EV.

Klaus

no avatar
marbotrade
Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:29 pm

Re: What mode?

by marbotrade » Tue Nov 04, 2014 8:39 am

mediavets wrote:Basically when you do panos: always use manual measuring of aperture and time, WB and focus.
NO automatics at all!


Why? Please explain.
Do you think that you will find a better optim than in Auto mode?
Auto mode has many years of research made by producer of photo camera.
In a few minutes, do you think that you will find a better optim? ...I am not so sure.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: What mode?

by mediavets » Tue Nov 04, 2014 10:37 pm

marbotrade wrote:
Basically when you do panos: always use manual measuring of aperture and time, WB and focus.
NO automatics at all!


Why? Please explain.
Do you think that you will find a better optim than in Auto mode?
Auto mode has many years of research made by producer of photo camera.
In a few minutes, do you think that you will find a better optim? ...I am not so sure.


If you are getting great results shooting in full auto then stick with it. :rolleyes:


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest