APG - Handling hardware  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Sun Oct 05, 2014 2:16 pm

inspired by some other threads like:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=5057
I wanna post my experiences with my new Hardware:

APG 3.7.0 RC1
Windows 8.1Pro
128GB RAM (256max)
1xXeon E5-2680v2 / 10 cores / 20 HT cores) (2x Xeons max)

Asus Z9PE-D16 Motherboard:
with Asus PIKE 2208 (LSI SAS/SATA Raid Card, 8 ports with 1GB dedicated Memory) with:
used as temp dirs:
2x Kingston 128GB SSDs as RAID0
2x Samsung 840PRO 256GB SSDs as RAID0

LSI Mega Raid (6GB-SATA; onboard Software Raid):
2x 1TB Seagate ST... discs as RAID1 + 1 Hotspare disc used for OS/System drive C:
2x 3TB WDC (reds) as RAID1 used as data drive G:

unused: dawicontrol RAID Controller (PCIe; max 4 ports 6GP SATA, RAID JDBO,0,1,5 possible)

screenshots: the Hardware seen with CPU-Z

next post: first gigapixel Speed test using the data from: http://hdview.at/speedtest/index.html

I did the test with my DEL XPS PC with i7 & 16GB Ram and an old Nvidia Geforce GTX 260 with 1GB Memory and it took 14 Min to render the pano, 3:57 for warping Phase.

... the fun part for 1st test: how well will be the new Hardware, in Special with NO GPU Card added to the System, so in my case only using 32MB VGA onboard Card) :)
Attachments
2014-10-05 14_30_16-JViewer[192.168.0.120] - 4 fps.png
2014-10-05 14_29_43-JViewer[192.168.0.120] - 1 fps.png
2014-10-05 14_29_29-JViewer[192.168.0.120] - 3 fps.png

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2206
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by HansKeesom » Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:46 pm

gkaefer wrote:inspired by some other threads like:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=5057
I wanna post my experiences with my new Hardware:

it took 14 Min to render the pano, 3:57 for warping Phase[/color][/b].


Personally I do not care much about the render speed. I do that in batch and if it takes twice as long, fine with me. It is the speed of the editing that is important to me, because that is the time I have to spent behind or near my computerscreen.

BTW, I work from my living room using a macmini to control a Windows Workstation that is in another room. That way I can still work in a nice and most of time quiet environment ;-)

I am interested to see if this formula (still) works for you viewtopic.php?p=87033#p87033

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:32 pm

First Test: using the Default Settings after fresh install of apg 3.0.7 RC1.

Details:
I did set the paths for temp dir, Project dir and render Output dir to the same drive (RAID0 of 2SSDs).
OS on C: drive is a RAID1 of 2 Harddrives.
I left all other Parameters with Default values, in Special the Antighost Detail paramater I left the priority to Ghost.
The Scene in the gigapixel test pano shows a far away landscape, no Close objects, so for this Scene I would suggest to set the priority to "Long focal" (which actually I will do in TEST 2)

Results:

I finally can render the pano in 9 minutes now (instead of 14 minutes with old 16GB PC)
I can clear see that the different render stages do Focus on different Topics:

1. Warping:
takes round 1 Minute.
In screenshot 1 you can see that CPU is used up to 100%, 8GB Ram used, no HD usage

2. Antighost:
In screenshot 2 you can see that CPU Drops to 25%, Memory slightly raised to 14GB, HD usage is still unnoticable
In screenshot 3 you can see the max. HD Usage during Antighost Phase, it was 40% short Peak. The Peak was on Drive C: which is the OS drive where Pagefile is located and kolor Software is installed (source & Destination files are not on C:)
In screenshot 4 you can see that at the end of antighost stage the CPU usages raises back up to 100%.

3. Blending (Cutting value on Batch render result):
In screenshot 5 you can see that at blending stage the CPU remains at 100% and the Memory usage raises up to 89GB RAM. (apg displays that max 122GB are available to apg...).
In screenshot 6 you can see that Memory is not freed...

4. Writing file:
In screenshot 7 you can see that Memory is still used even render & writing finished. ... and the writing on disk H: uses only some % (finally ist a 3GB psd file); disc C: with the Pagefile on other side uses 37%.
In screenshot 8 finally you can see that after closing APG the Memory is freed...

Question:

Ok, drop of render time from 14 to 9 minutes.
Looking into Detail I see that the cutting now takes 6 Min 40 Seconds (form 9 minutes total).
My 16GB Dell did that cutting stage in 2 Minutes 12 seconds. all other stages I could Speed up with my new Workstation:

Warping: 3:57 -> 1:01
Cutting: 2:12 -> 6:40
Blending: 4:53 -> 1:21
Saving: 2:10 -> 0:14

So I suspect the different Default values for the antighost Options for this raising cutting time.
Because no GPU Card was used in my first test, it will be interesting to see if a GPU will Change the values in one or more stages.
(I will wait until December to get Hands on the nvidia GTX 980 with 8GB GDDR5)

The not freeing the Memory makes me suspect. Still... nothing new this behavior. But for apg 4 currently being developed I would add this to my whishlist... that Memory is freed up again after Rendering finished. Only this way you can work on more than one pano... will also do a test to see if starting a second pano will free the Memory allthouth the first Project is still loaded....

Georg
Attachments
01-2014-10-05 14_35_35.png
Screenshot 1
02-2014-10-05 14_36_46.png
Screenshot 2
03-2014-10-05 14_39_18.png
Screenshot 3
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:34 pm

screenshots 4-6
Attachments
04-2014-10-05 14_40_15.png
screenshot 4
05-2014-10-05 14_43_28.png
screenshot 5
06-2014-10-05 14_44_01.png
screenshot 6

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:35 pm

screenshots 7+8
Attachments
07-2014-10-05 14_44_45.png
screenshot 7
08-2014-10-05 14_46_32.png
screenshot 8

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2206
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by HansKeesom » Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:46 pm

No the GPU will NOT change any of these stages. During rendering the GPU is NOT used.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:52 pm

HansKeesom wrote:
gkaefer wrote:inspired by some other threads like:
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=5057
I wanna post my experiences with my new Hardware:

it took 14 Min to render the pano, 3:57 for warping Phase[/color][/b].


Personally I do not care much about the render speed. I do that in batch and if it takes twice as long, fine with me. It is the speed of the editing that is important to me, because that is the time I have to spent behind or near my computerscreen.

BTW, I work from my living room using a macmini to control a Windows Workstation that is in another room. That way I can still work in a nice and most of time quiet environment ;-)

I am interested to see if this formula (still) works for you viewtopic.php?p=87033#p87033


I can understand and do agree with you. But exact that I cant test on my new Workstation because no GPU available for now ;-)
And if you see which time "get lost" because of used different Settings than working on 5-10 Projects simultanously finally also costs a lot of time.

In fact one of the reasons for testing my Hardware is the different render time results for the gigapixel-test pano:
ptgui in General seems to make an "better" Job, the best autopano result shown is 7:44 and ptgui does the Job in 15 seconds.

PS: thanks for reminder to the formula.... will come back tomorrow with Feedback...
Georg

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Sun Oct 05, 2014 6:12 pm

HansKeesom wrote:No the GPU will NOT change any of these stages. During rendering the GPU is NOT used.


its clear, summary GPU-Ram usage:
rereading each posting of the APG 2 GPU configuration advice thread, I do find Alexandres Infos:

viewtopic.php?p=42339#p42339
... his following posting too.
this implies that SLI of more than one nvidia Card will be supported (I General was thinking only one GPU core is supported)

viewtopic.php?p=100728#p100728
here Alexandres explains why SLI will also Speed up autopano

viewtopic.php?p=100745#p100745
here Alexandres replies to your posting explaing that GPU is only used for Preview / Editing

viewtopic.php?p=101367#p101367
... and here in more Detail why more GPU ram is better, but only for Preview / Editing

... but finally:
I was at photokina and could see a little bit into the panooracle:
viewtopic.php?p=147326#p147326
whichever of both Options I mentioned above will go productive in apg 4... it will have fantastic results =D

Georg

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2206
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by HansKeesom » Fri Oct 10, 2014 9:04 pm

From the last link it is not clear whether GPU will be used for rendering. Of course, I do hope so, but for me more important is better use of the GPU for the editor and maybe multiGPU, so I can buy a second titan ;-) It would be already cool if one editor can run on one GPU and the other editor on the other.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:05 pm

apg 4.0 beta 3 now gives me the speedtest pano in 6 Min 0 sec instead of the 9 min with apg 3.7...
Georg
Attachments
speedtest-with-apg40b3.jpg

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2206
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by HansKeesom » Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:33 pm

Well I am happy I got 5 min:5 s where 3.7.1 did 8 min 8;-) So now that I am faster then you Georg, I can easier say that I do not care about rendering time as I always concentrate on other things while rendering. I have a mac mini in the living room from which I control my servers in the server room, so many things I can do while rendering goes on.

While checking and correcting in the editor I am waiting for APG to finish the preview

For me more important is (using the same test set) :
-how fast the editor opens (3,96 sec for 4.0.0 beta 2 versus 14,29 sec in 3.7.1.)
-how fast the preview is at 1,54 %( 2:48 sec for 4.0.0 beta 2 versus 3,67 sec in 3.7.1.)(2.43 for beta 3)
-how fast the preview is at 20% (1.57 sec for 4.0.0 beta 2 versus 8,45 sec in 3.7.1.)(4.35 for beta 3)
-how fast the preview is at 100% (3.10 sec for 4.0.0 beta 2 versus 6.37 in 3.7.1.) (3.03 for beta 3)
-a move to the right with two clicks in the horizontal scrollbar (2.05 sec for 4.0.0 beta 2 versus 5,79 sec in 3.7.1) (2.08 for beta 3)


Now.........time to install the beta 3 and see if it still crashes while rendering that 1000 picture panorama I made.


Installed beta 3 not faster and even slower with the 20%, but hey, handclocked and only once so I guess statistical irrelevant ;-)

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3407
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by gkaefer » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:39 am

;-)) did you try it with NOT using Antighost preset? If you use simple preset with linear blending than in 1 Minute 52 sec the pano is rendered. Observing the Task Manager while Rendering I notice that the Memory is no longer climbing up to >100GB RAM usage, it stays @ moderate 20GB RAM usage. The antighost Phase is now the most timeconsuming stage, all other stages got boosted with apg 4 now.

what I also noticed is that the 20 CPUs are now alltogether in same Level between 95-100% load. in 3.7 apg there ware less continous Memory usage.

cool done... So, Alexandre: the Video I saw @ last photokina... the pano was rendered with simple preset ;-)))

Georg
Attachments
apg40b3-speedtest2.png
apg40b3-speedtest3.png

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2206
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: APG - Handling hardware

by HansKeesom » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:09 pm

with the old file in place I got 1:59, without the file there I got 1:53.
But again, I am more interested in de preview in the editor, asuming it is closer to the endresult now.


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests