Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 9:30 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:49 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:22 pm
Posts: 3
Hello everybody,

A store near my home, that have a server: Dell C1100 with config:

Dual Quad Core CPU Xeon L5520 (8 core, 16 thread)
18x4GB = 72GB ECC Reg, Elpida bus 1333Mhz
Mainboard Dell,
1 HDD 1T
POWER 650W.
Vga: No vga card.

i will buy that Dell server to stitching gigapixel image with APG. i I'm not sure:is it enough for stitching image? (i take panorama image with Gigapan Pro, about 2000 pictures)? Do i need buy more a big vga card??

pls help me, thanks a lot.
My english is not good, sorry :((.


Last edited by masterit3000 on Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:12 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3345
Location: Salzburg
I could do panos with up to 700 images with 8GB ram (very slow) and with 16GB still slow but worlds faster than with 8GB....
so 72GB should be a very solid basis...

a good GPU card and you've a hopefully cheap server...
I would go for the nvidia titan with 6GB GPU
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-titan
if money does not limit you, go for 18x8GB reg.memory. a good one is available for 140€ for 1x16GB.

a not uninportant question is which drives you will use.
I think dells come prefonfigured (the xps comes with 2xHD as RAID0 for the OS drive... lol...make sure this is not the case for your dell)
so if possible put the OS on a RAID1 made by 2 SSDs
for images, temp dir, destination dir put some 6GBit HDs into your dell using RAID5(3+ disks) or RAID0(2+disks if speed is prefered and data loss less important)

for archiving your done work and sourceimages:
if money is no issue than you could use the thecus NAS with 40TB with 10 HDs and with up to RAID 60 for performance
http://www.thecus.com/product.php?PROD_ID=73

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Last edited by gkaefer on Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 8:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
masterit3000 wrote:
Dual Quad Core CPU Xeon L5520 (8 core, 16 thread)

This is not accurate, each L5520 has 4 cores 8 threads.
The current Xeons like E5-2650 has 8 cores 16 threads each.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:48 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:23 am
Posts: 174
What ever Leifs......8 cores or 16 cores what you should add is a solid state drive since the read/write speed is going to determine a lot of the performance even at that heap of memory, which should be enough. You have 650 watts power and that means you're options for a VGA card are usually limited (since as I recall servers do not have that many power supplies with 2 6 pole connectors or even 1 6 pole and 1 8 pole free as that, make sure you have enough power.....for your system....a server is a server and no high end work station). And since APP/APG is not Blender the performance boost you get is only during editing not during rendering....(Blender is optimized to use the brute force calculating power of the NVIDIA boards).

Greets, Ed.

Nvidia comparison.....do the math and check value for money, or cycles per dollar so to speak.

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/high_end_gpus.html

_________________
Olympus OM-D with HLD-6, Fuji GX680, Samyang 7.5, Olympus 9-18, Sigma 19, Panasonic 14-45, Nikon 50 1.4 on Novoflex with tripod mount, Nikon 80-200, Panasonic 45-200, Fujinon 135, Fujinon 80, Fujinon 65, Fujinon 50, Gitzo Gilux Reporter 2, Sirui Ballhead and Panosaurus 2.0 NNP adapter, Motorized Panohead of Canadian (ironware)/Dutch (electronics and software) construction.


Last edited by Artisan New on Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:00 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
with 72GB RAM you would be able to do a pano of 1000 images @16Mpx without using the scratch disk, so a SSD is not important (but wise).
see http://www.kolor.com/forum/p87033-2011-08-11-11-53-58#p87033
for larger panos a SSD for scratch is important.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 10:04 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:23 am
Posts: 174
masterit3000 wrote:
(i take panorama image with Gigapan Pro, about 2000 pictures)? Do i need buy more a big vga card??

Then he would run out of space half way since I have the creepin feeling he's not using a Nikon D1 to shoot the pano's.......believe me when I say to you, I hope you love you're SSD too.......

Greets, Ed.

_________________
Olympus OM-D with HLD-6, Fuji GX680, Samyang 7.5, Olympus 9-18, Sigma 19, Panasonic 14-45, Nikon 50 1.4 on Novoflex with tripod mount, Nikon 80-200, Panasonic 45-200, Fujinon 135, Fujinon 80, Fujinon 65, Fujinon 50, Gitzo Gilux Reporter 2, Sirui Ballhead and Panosaurus 2.0 NNP adapter, Motorized Panohead of Canadian (ironware)/Dutch (electronics and software) construction.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:15 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:22 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for your infomation. i must buy SSD and a big Vga Card, an example HD 7970. ???
How long does my pc render a panorama (about 2000 picture, 10 gigapixel ) with that config ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:59 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 607
Location: Ørsta Norway
You cannot get a fast enough disk for a project like this.
I would rather buy four (or more) small SSD's and use them in a RAID 0 setup than one big SSD. It will be much faster.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:42 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:22 pm
Posts: 3
oh, i understand, thanks leifs, verry much :D.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group