APG editor vs GPU  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

APG editor vs GPU

by leifs » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:41 pm

I have "downgraded" my graphics adapter to a Nvidia GT630, because I want to see if more memory will speed up the work in the editor.
The GT630 has 4GB memory.
I have also installed GPU-Z to monitor what is happening.

But I cannot understand the result. The wheel shown in the printscreen below is spinning and spinning and spinning even though the GPU load are only 19% and memory used is only 752MB out of 4000MB.
What is the APG editor doing while the wheel is spinning ???????

leifs


Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:56 pm

It is like some programms that use not all cores that you have in your CPU and therefore not reaching 100%. This because they were not programmed to use multiple/cores or because the task to be done cannot logically be split.

A GPU has many 'cores' and Kolor programmed APG very smart to be able to use the GPU as best as possible. But there are limits to what can be done, often because of the logic of the algorithm used.

Don't worry, I sometimes notice 0%, other times 46% (of a 600MHZ clock). I am just happy the preview is faster then it was and that is here at all in the first place.
Last edited by HansKeesom on Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:32 pm

I do worry. My other card is a ATI HD6850 and it gave me a Windows rating at 7.2. It had only 1 GB memory though (I have 3 monitors).
Now I have 4GB and a windows rating of 6.5 and the wheel is spinning and spinning.
To me it seems that there is no gain at all in APG adding memory to the GPU.

leifs
Last edited by leifs on Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:11 pm

I have an idea of what is going on:
even though I'm only looking at at a small part of the pano APG editor is "rendering all over the place", using a lot of time on parts I'm not seeing.
it's not like the "krpano approach": rendering only the part I'm looking at.
correct me if I'm wrong.

If this is the case Kolor should have a look at this, as the editor is becoming more important. Stitching errors should be identified and corrected before rendering instead of after hours of rendering.

leifs
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway

by leifs » Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:22 pm

I was wrong. When the whole pano, 360x180 is shown, the wheel is spinning and spinning also.
And it is blocking the use of moving the pano/slowing the use of the editor.

I would still want to know how to speed up the editor/remove the wait for the spinning wheel.

leifs


Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

by klausesser » Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:08 am

leifs wrote:I would still want to know how to speed up the editor/remove the wait for the spinning wheel.

Guess you´re talking about APG 3 Beta1 - well it´s a Beta1 . . . ;):cool: Just give Kolor some more time to get it straight.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:26 am

... and if you used autopano 3.0 alpha x version than sorry ... gpu was not working/enabled

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Sat Oct 06, 2012 10:16 am

leifs wrote:I do worry. My other card is a ATI HD6850 and it gave me a Windows rating at 7.2. It had only 1 GB memory though (I have 3 monitors).
Now I have 4GB and a windows rating of 6.5 and the wheel is spinning and spinning.
To me it seems that there is no gain at all in APG adding memory to the GPU.

leifs

If you use the windows rating to evaluate your GPU-card, I think you are being a bit unfair to the cards. There are better test for GPU-cards.

As discussed with AlexandreJ in other threads, memory is important. It allows APG to store all informations about a pano in the GPU memory so it can work. I had a 512 MB card before and often saw the card could only hold 1/4 of what APG would like it to hold. Now I have a 85 euro card with 4 GB on it an the editor really flies and can hold much larger panoramas.

Yes APG might have some possibilities for improvement on using the APG, we are all looking forward to it.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:11 am

The spinning wheel is a known bug: issue 1509


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests