Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 11:59 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: APG editor vs GPU
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Ørsta Norway
I have "downgraded" my graphics adapter to a Nvidia GT630, because I want to see if more memory will speed up the work in the editor.
The GT630 has 4GB memory.
I have also installed GPU-Z to monitor what is happening.

But I cannot understand the result. The wheel shown in the printscreen below is spinning and spinning and spinning even though the GPU load are only 19% and memory used is only 752MB out of 4000MB.
What is the APG editor doing while the wheel is spinning ???????

leifs



_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2072
It is like some programms that use not all cores that you have in your CPU and therefore not reaching 100%. This because they were not programmed to use multiple/cores or because the task to be done cannot logically be split.

A GPU has many 'cores' and Kolor programmed APG very smart to be able to use the GPU as best as possible. But there are limits to what can be done, often because of the logic of the algorithm used.

Don't worry, I sometimes notice 0%, other times 46% (of a 600MHZ clock). I am just happy the preview is faster then it was and that is here at all in the first place.

_________________
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. If you want to concentrate on your business and shooting you might want me do the stitching for you.


Last edited by HansKeesom on Fri Oct 05, 2012 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:32 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Ørsta Norway
I do worry. My other card is a ATI HD6850 and it gave me a Windows rating at 7.2. It had only 1 GB memory though (I have 3 monitors).
Now I have 4GB and a windows rating of 6.5 and the wheel is spinning and spinning.
To me it seems that there is no gain at all in APG adding memory to the GPU.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Last edited by leifs on Fri Oct 05, 2012 10:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:11 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Ørsta Norway
I have an idea of what is going on:
even though I'm only looking at at a small part of the pano APG editor is "rendering all over the place", using a lot of time on parts I'm not seeing.
it's not like the "krpano approach": rendering only the part I'm looking at.
correct me if I'm wrong.

If this is the case Kolor should have a look at this, as the editor is becoming more important. Stitching errors should be identified and corrected before rendering instead of after hours of rendering.

leifs

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Ørsta Norway
I was wrong. When the whole pano, 360x180 is shown, the wheel is spinning and spinning also.
And it is blocking the use of moving the pano/slowing the use of the editor.

I would still want to know how to speed up the editor/remove the wait for the spinning wheel.

leifs



_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1, Panasonic 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Leica 25mm f1.4, Olympus 75mm f1.8, Canon 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L
Seitz VRdrive2
Intel i7 980X, 48GB RAM, Win7 64bit, SSD RAIDs


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:08 am 
Online
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7623
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
leifs wrote:
I would still want to know how to speed up the editor/remove the wait for the spinning wheel.

Guess you´re talking about APG 3 Beta1 - well it´s a Beta1 . . . ;):cool: Just give Kolor some more time to get it straight.

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 12:26 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Posts: 3313
Location: Salzburg
... and if you used autopano 3.0 alpha x version than sorry ... gpu was not working/enabled

_________________
pages: gigapixel.at - jedermann.at - My Equipment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 10:16 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2072
leifs wrote:
I do worry. My other card is a ATI HD6850 and it gave me a Windows rating at 7.2. It had only 1 GB memory though (I have 3 monitors).
Now I have 4GB and a windows rating of 6.5 and the wheel is spinning and spinning.
To me it seems that there is no gain at all in APG adding memory to the GPU.

leifs

If you use the windows rating to evaluate your GPU-card, I think you are being a bit unfair to the cards. There are better test for GPU-cards.

As discussed with AlexandreJ in other threads, memory is important. It allows APG to store all informations about a pano in the GPU memory so it can work. I had a 512 MB card before and often saw the card could only hold 1/4 of what APG would like it to hold. Now I have a 85 euro card with 4 GB on it an the editor really flies and can hold much larger panoramas.

Yes APG might have some possibilities for improvement on using the APG, we are all looking forward to it.

_________________
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. If you want to concentrate on your business and shooting you might want me do the stitching for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 10:11 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5865
Location: Francin, France
The spinning wheel is a known bug: issue 1509


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group