Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:13 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:07 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:44 pm
Posts: 3
Hi folk`s,
i have one question. I wanna buy Panogear or Gigapan Epic Pro. I review internet one week and read all about this gear.
Can you help me decide? I have Nikon D3 with lenses from 14mm, via 50mm to 400mm f2.8.
what is better for this configuration for panoramatic photos of city and 360x180 panoramatic interior?
thank you.
:rolleyes:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:23 pm
Posts: 456
Location: Surrey, UK
if you wish to do spherical images in addition to partial panoramas, then i would recomend the panogear. Gigapan doesn allow optimised shooting paterns for spheres, and is limited in its pitch movement


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:26 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 845
Location: Grenoble, France
I don't agree with wjh31 ! Less worse choice would be Epic Pro as D3 is definitively too big body for Panogear ! Don't forget that if you want to do spherical you'll get always pretty large nadir hole with motorised heads ! Why do you want motorised head ? if it's not for gigapixel panoramas, manual head might be definitively a better choice :)

Vincèn

_________________
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
My shop for panoramic photographs: http://magasin.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 8:56 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:23 pm
Posts: 456
Location: Surrey, UK
The D3 would definately be too heavy with a 400/2.8 on the panogear head, but the combination may well be pushing it for the gigapan too. But at about 1.5kg most lenses will be accepted by the panogear head. The gigapan is i gather faster in gigapixel images, and a manual head might be faster for really wide lenses. If your budget allows then consider a gigapan epic pro for gigapixel images plus something like a Nodal Ninja (probably the new M1 with the larger body) for spheircal images. But this will total more like ~1500GBP compared to ~500GBP for the panogear. If you want to use the 400/2.8 you will need move beyond into another level such as the clauss rodeon range where you will likely be looking at another 3x in cost. However if you are shooting with a D3 and 400/2.8 maybe budgets arnt as tight as for some of us


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:01 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 845
Location: Grenoble, France
wjh31 wrote:
The D3 would definately be too heavy with a 400/2.8 on the panogear head, but the combination may well be pushing it for the gigapan too.

I use myself D3 with 150-500 lens plus focal doubler and it works fine on Epic Pro, so long whole stuff is well balanced when installed on Epic Pro.

wjh31 wrote:
I like a Nodal Ninja (probably the new M1 with the larger body) for spheircal images.

A M1 might be a good choice if you really want to use heavy lenses. If you use more "regular" lenses, till 100mm, NN4 should be enough for D3 + lens !

Vincèn

_________________
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
My shop for panoramic photographs: http://magasin.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 9:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:23 pm
Posts: 456
Location: Surrey, UK
vincen wrote:
I use myself D3 with 150-500 lens plus focal doubler and it works fine on Epic Pro, so long whole stuff is well balanced when installed on Epic Pro.

If i take a stab and guess you refer to the sigma 150-500, then this comes in at ~2kg, for ~3.5kg with a D3 i think. This is about the rated limit for the gigapan epic pro (as an asside, the same lens on a canon 500D works fine/well with the merlin head). However the nikkor 400/2.8 comes in at ~4.5kg according to a bit of googleing, for around 6kg total with a large body, which is well over the rated limit of the epic pro.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:47 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 845
Location: Grenoble, France
wjh31 wrote:
If i take a stab and guess you refer to the sigma 150-500, then this comes in at ~2kg, for ~3.5kg with a D3 i think. This is about the rated limit for the gigapan epic pro (as an asside, the same lens on a canon 500D works fine/well with the merlin head). However the nikkor 400/2.8 comes in at ~4.5kg according to a bit of googleing, for around 6kg total with a large body, which is well over the rated limit of the epic pro.

You are right about weight of whole stuff but most important thing is whole stuffs installed on Epic Pro be well balanced and it'll work fine ;) I might do the test by putting 6kg load on an Epic next week if you are interested and check if it works nice :)

Vincèn

_________________
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
My shop for panoramic photographs: http://magasin.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:45 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:44 pm
Posts: 3
OK folk`s, i make peace with max combination Nikon D3 /1,35kg/ + Nikkor 300mm f2.8 /2,85kg/ + maybe teleconverter 1,4x /0,2kg/ = 4,4kg and this is load capacity Panogear and Epic Pro too.
I read in manual for Epic Pro: "A few larger cameras, such as the Nikon D3X, will not allow you to perfectly center the height of the lens to the midpoint." Isn`t problem for perfect panorama?
Can i create panorama 360*180 in interior no problem with Epic Pro? Don`t absent you portret gripping?
Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 10:14 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 am
Posts: 845
Location: Grenoble, France
DodoFot wrote:
A few larger cameras, such as the Nikon D3X, will not allow you to perfectly center the height of the lens to the midpoint." Isn`t problem for perfect panorama?

Doesn't matter as these heads are designed for larger lenses for gigapixel panoramas so you don't care to be at central point as nearer points you shoot are really far !

DodoFot wrote:
Can i create panorama 360*180 in interior no problem with Epic Pro? Don`t absent you portret gripping?

As said previously it's impossible to shoot a whole spherical panorama with Epic Pro or Panogear, due to large mechanic at bottom of head ! If you need to shoot whole spherical for interior, smaller lenses such as 14/20/30mm will be well enough and manual head will fit fine !

Vincèn

_________________
Blog: http://www.skivr.com
My shop for panoramic photographs: http://magasin.skivr.com
Nodal Ninja 4 R-D16 on Benro Tripod + Ultimate R1 on Nodal Ninja P2 + Nikon D800 + Nikkor 10.5 + Nikkor 14/24 f/2.8 +Pentax 645D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 1:49 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 4:44 pm
Posts: 3
vincen, i know your configuration is like as me /nikon d3 + lenses/. and i know, you have panogear and epic pro too. i read your blog and facebook.
can you write shortly + and - for this gears? i`m interested in support and compatibility with autopano and panotour too.
they are two groups of peoples, first sympathetic panogear, second epic pro. but i don`t read what is wrong on panogear, what is wrong on epic pro, in what is better one gear, in what is better second gear :(
thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:01 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:38 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Newberg Oregon
I have both a nn5 and a gigapan pro, I max out with Canon 5d mkII and Canon 300 f4. For indoor 360x180 I use a Sigma 8mm fisheye. You can reverse the slide and mount the fisheye with a collar mount on the lense. I use a Canon collar off the Canon 70x200 with a quarter inch trimmed off the collars base. It works but I didn't like it because of the barrel pressure and it is hard to focus with the collar on the lens. Solution was the buy a second rail for the gigapan, $15.00 and cut it at the end of the marked scale and mount the camera body instead of the lens and adust so the side rails just disapear from the view.

I then manually set the fov to 72 for 5 shots or 90 for 4 shots. Then level the rail with a level and then tilt up 1 to 2 degrees. This gives a good zenith (top nadir) and I use a nadir logo for the bottom. I find a nadir logo of 520 pixels covers the tripod legs.

Using the gigapans repeat panorama allows me to move the rig from room to room and the delay allows me to leave the room during the shoot. I just listen for the shutter clicks. Just devide 360 by the number of shots desired then select 360 panorama and when prompted for top and bottom just keep pressing okay.

I don't have a panogear head so can't give feed back on it.

_________________
Bill
http://rhmpano.com
http://rhmpano.org
http://redhillsmedia.com


Last edited by billjones on Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group