OT - HD Upgrade  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
no avatar
marco.lanciani
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 168
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Roma, Italy
Info

OT - HD Upgrade

by marco.lanciani » Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:41 am

Hi,

I'm upgrading my old iMac G5 17" 1.8Ghz.
I already upgraded to 2GB ram with success. Now I'm considering to replace the original HD with an SSD.

Searching on the web and asking my friends I came to no conclusion: who says yes, who maybe, who NO!

I'm considering the following models, which are quite fast and "cheap", SSD speaking:

- OCZ Vertex 2 Series 120GB 2.5" plus adapter (included)
- OCZ Vertex 2 Series 120GB 3.5"
- CORSAIR Force Series 120GB 2.5" plus adapter

Questions:

- Can anyone tell me that the upgrade, either the 2.5 or the 3.5, is 100% ok?
- As for the 2.5" format, what adapter do you suggest?

I'm looking for direct experience or people who just know.

Alternatively what do you think about upgrading with a Raptor 150GB?

Thanks in advance,
Marco

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3550
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Sat Dec 11, 2010 2:11 am

DEar Marco,

not really familiar with Macs,

but google ;-) gives me some links like:
http://www.unlikelymoose.com/blog/comments/871_0_1_0_C/
http://www.macupgrades.co.uk/store/machine.php?name=imac-g5
does this help? this posting states 3.5 disc is used...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Sat Dec 11, 2010 2:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
marco.lanciani
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 168
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Roma, Italy
Info

by marco.lanciani » Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:57 pm

Hi Georg,

second link was interesting. I got in touch with them and waiting for an answer...
Anyway they confirm what I've found on Macsales website. That is, I can use at least WD Raptor but no word about SSDs.

Best Regards,
Marco

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 63 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:24 pm

marco.lanciani wrote:Hi Georg,

second link was interesting. I got in touch with them and waiting for an answer...
Anyway they confirm what I've found on Macsales website. That is, I can use at least WD Raptor but no word about SSDs.

Best Regards,
Marco

I suggest not to upgrade too much a machine you can´t run actual applications with - they´re all Intel oriented.
I made the same cut - and since then i use my G5 DP 2x2GHz only for office apps and take an Intel Mac Pro for work.

Upgrading to at least 2GB RAM is really good. But SSD or Raptors means throwing pearls at swines i think!
Save the money to get a used Intel-Mac! Even an Intel-Mac Mini is more suitable than your upgraded G5 iMac.

best and good luck, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
tived
Member
 
Posts: 796
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Dane in Western Australia
Info

by tived » Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:39 am

well u can take the ssd with when u get a new system, if it has a SATA connection you should b fine.

all the SSD's you mentioned r basically the same, sandforce based. go for the cheapest. or consider the Crucial C300 which is the fastest.

Henrik

ps: u definately need more ram! i think what Klaus recommends maks a lot of sense

no avatar
marco.lanciani
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 168
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Roma, Italy
Info

by marco.lanciani » Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:33 pm

Hi Henrik,

Thanks for your suggestions.
By the way, 2GB Ram is the limit for my machine. I can't install more than that.

Hi Georg,

I emaild to Macupgrades... they told there's no reason why I can't install an SSD on my old iMac G5 first generation.
Maybe this week I'll have a chance to try an SSD before to buy...

If so, I'll let you all know if it works.
Regards,

Marco


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests